Salted Caramels and Homemade Turtles

I took a liking to this recipe because the caramel is cooked in the microwave. I love anything that simple! I altered the original recipe with a couple extra ingredients. This is a caramel that has to be kept in the fridge. It is a sticky one! Besides being yummy right out of the wax paper wrapper, I think this would be awesome dropped into a cup of coffee! Imagine coffee sweetened with homemade salted caramel, YUMMY!

Printable Recipe: Salted Caramel

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter/margarine

  • 1 cup sugar

  • 1 cup brown sugar

  • 1 cup light corn syrup

  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk

  • 2 teaspoons vanilla

  • Sea salt

Directions:

Generously spray a 9×13 glass dish.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Combine all ingredients in a microwave save dish.

Stir ingredients together.

Cook for 12 minutes, stirring every 2 minutes.

The photo above is after 2 minutes on high in the microwave.

The photo above is after 4 minutes on high in the microwave.

The photo above is after 6 minutes on high in the microwave.

The photo above is after 8 minutes on high in the microwave.

The photo above is after 10 minutes on high in the microwave.

The photo above is after 12 minutes on high in the microwave. Stir until the bubbles go away and the caramel is smooth. Add vanilla and stir till vanilla is well combined into caramels.

Pour into the prepared dish.

Sprinkle sea salt on top of the caramel. I got my sea salt from the Dollar Tree. Yep, for only one dollar! Best part is that the container already has the built in top to freshly grind the sea salt.

Place in fridge for at least 2 hours to cool.

Cut into one-inch squares. Place in the freezer for at least 15 minutes.

While in the freezer, cut up wax paper pieces approximately 3.5-4 inches in size. Spread out 12 pieces of wax paper.

Remove caramels from freezer and working with about 12 pieces at a time, re-cut the lines and place caramels in the center of the wax paper. As you can see from the photos, the caramel still stuck to the glass. Because I have a special chopper knife, I was able to scrape a row of caramels away from the rest of the caramels. I then had to re-cut the pieces.

Place caramels back in the freezer while wrapping the caramels up. When I was wrapping a caramel, I would wrap it in the wax paper and gently roll it into a little tube shape. Then I twisted the paper ends. Repeat steps 10-12 until all the caramel is wrapped.

Place wrapped caramels in the fridge. Eat as is or add one caramel to a cup of coffee for a scrumptious, sweetened and salted caramel hot drink. Put some in a cute container and add a label telling the recipient to add one piece to a cup of coffee for a unique gift! Yes, the caramel stuck a little, okay a lot, to the wax paper but the taste is so spot on that no one is going to blame you if you scrape the caramel off the wax paper with your teeth, lol! I will make this again but I know I will be checking the temperature of the caramel with a candy thermometer. I can’t help but wonder if I undercooked or overcooked the caramel and that is why it didn’t set up correctly? The correct temperature for caramel is 244 degrees Fahrenheit. Enjoy!

Oh I’ll go ahead and add that I made homemade turtles from the caramels. First I melted 1lb of cocoa candy melt.

While waiting for it to melt, I put candy cup liners in my mini muffin pan.

Once meled, I dropped a heaping teaspoon to cover the bottom. I placed chopped pecans on top. I worked doing this 6 at a time so that the candy melts didn’t set up before the nuts were applied.

Once all the nuts were secured in the set candy melts, I added a small piece of the caramel to each candy cup. Then I spooned 1-2 teaspoons of the melted candy melt over the caramel making sure it was covered completely. I allowed the candy melt to set up. Tadah, cutie patootie homemade turtles!

Yum!

Leave a Reply

