Taco Soup

Our oldest son absolutely hates ground beef. I think it is a tactile thing, he doesn’t like the texture of it. He will eat a hamburger but it’s on very rare occasions. Even our spaghetti and lasagna has to be meatless in order for him to eat it (or he digs around the ground beef and makes a terrible mess). He’s always been a very picky eater and it has been a challenge for us. I think he only ate mac-n-cheese for the first 8 years of his life, lol. So imagine my surprise when he said he loved the Taco Soup the first time we made it. He actually has been asking me to make it for the past week or so. I intended to make it when he first asked but I needed to get more taco seasoning (I used it all up with the Taco Dip, lol). Then I forgot we were out of ground beef. Then the take-out pizza demons forced us into ordering pizza instead of cooking. Finally, I got myself organized and we had Taco Soup for dinner last night. I have to agree with Stevie, it is pretty darn good! Plus, recipes using a crockpot gets an extra-thumbs up by me always! And of course, our Taco Soup is super easy to make!

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 pounds ground chuck

  • 1/3 cup of diced onions (omitted from picture below)

  • 2 cans beef broth (one can omitted from picture below)

  • 1 can of mild Rotel (don’t drain)

  • 1 can kernel corn (don’t drain)

  • 1 can pinto beans, drained and rinsed

  • 1 cup water

  • 1 packet of taco seasoning

  • 1 packet dry ranch dressing

Directions:

Brown and fully cook the ground chuck with the onions in a frying pan (if you’ve been following my blog, you should have some frozen diced onions in your freezer somewhere, lol). Drain the grease. Place the cooked ground chuck and onions in the bottom of a crockpot. Add the cans of beef broth, Rotel, corn, pinto beans and water. Stir till well combined. Add taco seasoning and ranch dressing. Stir again until well combined. Cook on low for 7 hours or on high for 4 hours.

Serve with a shredded blend of Mexican cheeses, sour cream and/or tortilla chips. It is super yummy!

2 thoughts on “Taco Soup

Leave a Reply

