Ziploc Desserts

Remember when jar mixes were all the rage? I absolutely loved getting them and making them. Maybe because it brought me back to when I was a little girl making “sand art” layering different colors of sand? I love the concept that most ingredients are pre-measured and that you are basically only adding the “wet” ingredients to complete the dessert! The layering of the ingredients made it so pretty! I love pretty, lol! Well, it wasn’t just desserts, I had made soup mixes in mason jar as well.

 

Remember, when I made the Super Thick Granny Square Potholders a few weeks ago? My intentions were to mail them to my younger cousin, Josie, who moved in to her first apartment earlier this summer. Not only is it her first time on her own but it is in a totally different state! She is one brave cookie! I completely admire and idolize her for her commitment to making the world a better place! She is passionate about social justice and took time out from college to help with an election campaign. Isn’t that just awesome?! Well, I would expect nothing less considering she comes from the most amazing uncle and aunt! I don’t think it is any secret that I had always wished my Uncle Gary was my dad. He is just amazing! He has the greatest sense of humor and yet he is one of the most compassionate beings I know making him a fantastic police officer in Michigan. Then couple that with his amazing wife, my Aunt Karen, whom herself has a great sense of humor and high societal standards. She has been a social worker for as long as I can remember. Seriously, how much better could your parents be? A police officer protecting folks and a social worker making the world a better place? So of course Josie and her older brother, Zach, are amazing! Zach just graduated from college with an education degree and deserves some huge kudos as well!

 My intent was to give her something hand-made (because hand-made gifts are the best) along with a couple “mixes”. As much as I love jar recipes, it was unrealistic to think I could safely mail some mason jars . . . so I opted instead to make Ziploc Desserts!

 I measured out and mixed up the dry ingredients for brownies and oatmeal butterscotch cookies. I put the mixes in Ziplocs and wrote down the directions directly on the bag in a permanent marker.

As awesome as this care package already was, I also went to the store and got her some spatulas and measuring spoons to add to her package. You can’t ever have too many spatulas or measuring spoons! I think I have 3 different sets of measuring cups right now, none of which is a complete set, lol!

 It took me much too long to get this done and in the mail but I’m super glad I got it out yesterday! I can’t wait till she gets her care package and hopes she knows that I am mighty proud to call her my cousin!

 Here are the directions for making the two Ziploc Desserts I mailed to Josie:

 

Brownies

Ingredients (measure out, mix and place ingredients in a quart size Ziploc):

  • 1 cup flour

  • 1/4 cup sugar

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa

  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

  • 1/2 a bag of milk chocolate chips

Directions (write these directly on the Ziploc bag before filling it):

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Apply a light layer of shortening covered in flour to a round cake pan. In a medium size bowl, mix 1 stick of margarine (softened), 1 large egg and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla till well combined. Add ingredients from this Ziploc and mix till well blended. Pour in prepared cake pan and bake for approximately 10-12 minutes.

 

Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies

Ingredients (measure out, mix and place ingredients in a gallon size Ziploc):

  • 3/4 cup sugar

  • 3/4 cup brown sugar

  • 1 cup quick cooking oats

  • 1 1/2 cups flour

  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

  • 1 bag of butterscotch chips

 Directions (write these directly on the Ziploc bag before filling it):

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, cream together 3/4 cup margarine (softened), 2 eggs and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Add ingredients from this Ziploc. Mix by hand until well combined. Drop dough by heaping teaspoons onto an unprepared cookie sheet. Bake for 12-15 minutes.

 

I went ahead and made a Brownie Ziploc for our family. So when we are in the mood for some sweets, the battle is half-way over! Seriously though, imagine how much money I saved making this mix versus buying the boxed brownie mixes out there that cost between $3.00 – $4.00?? It’s worth the time to make your own mixes! Look over your collection of dessert recipes, I bet you could put together the dry ingredients and create your own different varieties of Ziploc Desserts! Great to give away and great to keep in your cupboards for when you want a sweet treat that is half-way made!

Leave a Reply

