Quick Cinnamon Sugar Bread

Before I get into the bread, I have to tell you why I was baking bread at 5 in the morning. It was actually a little therapy for me, lol. I spent the evening (and early morning hours) finishing up a crocheted afghan. It was a fillet pattern of a horse. My intent was to sew it to red fleece (it was black). I seemed to have forgotten that I SUCK at sewing and my sewing machine SUCKS even more.

All those hours I put into making this horse pattern was wasted within minutes. Turns out the combination of crochet and fleece was too demanding on my crappy sewing machine. I actually ended up breaking 4 needles, yes…I said 4. I’ve tried and the hubby has tried to fix the tension for my thread but it never fails (or I guess I should say, “It always fails”). After a few inches of sewing, the tension gets so tight the thread just snaps. My tension is actually set to zero but that didn’t seem to matter. I had to re-thread the needles (because remember I went through 4 of them) at least 200 times.

My zig zag stitch should really be called “zig-skip a few-zag” stitch. I know it’s hard to see the awful stitching in this picture but trust me, it ruined the afghan. And I can’t just rip the seam because I sewn through several layers of yarn. I hate my stupid sewing machine! I wasted all that time pinning the fleece & then pinning the fleece to the afghan. It was a perfect square pattern but after all the horrible sewing, it was more of an abstract pattern, lol. It was ruined and quite frankly, I was annoyed beyond annoyed. This afghan was part of a collection of afghans I had made for the GMHS Football Moms Club to be raffled at home games. We have another home game this Friday so now I have to crochet another afghan and do it fast!

I needed something to go right so I thought I’d give this recipe a try. I altered the recipe just a little. I changed some of the ingredients’ amounts and just tweaked the directions. So glad I tried it because this Quick Cinnamon Sugar Bread recipe was seriously quick and fool-proof. The best part is that the ingredients are ingredients everyone has in their kitchen! No fancy smancy stuff, just simple and real. Just the way I like it. And oh did I need that, I needed something to be perfect after my sewing disaster and this bread certainly was that!

Printable Recipe: Quick Cinnamon Sugar Bread

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour

  • 1 tablespoon baking powder

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

  • 1 cup white sugar

  • 1 egg, beaten

  • 1 cup milk

  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil

  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon

  • 3 tablespoons sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Generously grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan (don’t forget to do all the sides all the way to the top).

In a large bowl combine flour, baking powder, salt and 1 cup sugar.

Using a 2 cup liquid measuring cup, measure out the milk. Add 1/3 cup of oil to the measuring cup. Add the egg to the measuring cup. Whisk milk, oil and egg together until well blended. Pour over flour mixture.

Stir until just moistened.

Pour half of the batter into prepared pan.

Combine the tablespoon of cinnamon and 3 tablespoons of sugar in a small bowl. I have cinnamon and sugar already mixed together in a container that you can see in the ingredients photo. Ok, you probably noticed that it is empty, lol. I need to mix more and fill it back up. We like to have cinnamon and sugar already mixed together for quick cinnamon toast. Because my cinnamon/sugar mix was already pre-made, I’m guessing I used twice the amount listed above. You can’t ever have too much cinnamon/sugar, lol! Sprinkle 1/2 of the cinnamon/sugar mix on top of the batter in the pan.

Cover cinnamon/sugar mix with remaining batter. Top with remaining cinnamon/sugar mix. Bake in preheated oven for 50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into center of the loaf comes out clean.

Allow to cool in pan for 10 minutes on a cooling rack before attempting to invert out of the pan. I wasn’t very successful with the bread flipping out of the pan. Only 1/2 wanted to come out so I put it back in the pan and will just keep it in there. The original directions said to grease the pan lightly. I am guessing I greased it too lightly, lol!

Serve warm with a thick slab of butter. Ok, you can omit the butter but I needed the butter this morning and lots of it, lol! Wrap the bread loaf in wax paper and then foil. I guess you could also omit the wax paper but I always think that bread wrapped in foil gets a metal taste to it? It probably is all made up in my head but I don’t chance it, lol! How long will it last on the counter? I have no clue because it will be gone before this day is over!

Update: I guess I should clarify the “Quick” part, lol. It was super easy and fast to put together. For me, it did take every bit of 50 minutes for it to fully bake. But I called it “Quick” because the batter came together and fully in the pan in less than 5 minutes. I had one bowl, one liquid measuring cup, one whisk and measuring spoons to wash. When baking from scratch, this to me is “Quick” 🙂

Update 2: Since I have made this bread seriously 3 times in the past couple of days, I can safely tell you to grease the pan “generously” and it will flip right out. My husband of 17 years demanded this be made everyday when he comes home from work…I just laughed my ass off at him, like I take demands! LOL LOL LOL This is the 1st demand he has ever made of me and unshockingly, his last since it was a huge epic fail on his part, LOL! Good thing he was joking or I would have to kick him in the shins! LOL

Leave a Reply

