Cinnamon Sugar Crockpot Almonds

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Who doesn’t like candied nuts! This recipe was part of my 2012 Christmas Baking Madness. I chose this recipe mostly because it requires a crockpot. I love anything I can throw in a pot and walk away from. These are really tasty but I’ll admit, they aren’t too pretty to look at. Still glad I tried this new recipe because I thought the Cinnamon Sugar Crockpot Almonds tasted fantastic!

Printed Recipe: Cinnamon Sugar Crockpot Almonds

Ingredients:

  • 1 – 1/2 cups sugar

  • 1 – 1/2 cups brown sugar

  • 3 tablespoons cinnamon

  • 1/8 teaspoon salt

  • 1 egg white

  • 2 teaspoons vanilla

  • 3 cups almonds

  • 1/4 cup water

Directions: 

Spray the crockpot thoroughly with non-stick cooking spray.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

In a medium bowl, mix together the sugars, cinnamon and salt.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

In a larger bowl, whisk the egg white and vanilla vigorously until frothy.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Add the almonds. Stir and ensure almonds are thoroughly coated. Add the cinnamon/sugar mix to the almonds. Toss almonds until fully coated.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Add the almonds/sugar mix to the crockpot. Turn it on low. Cook for 3 hours stirring every 1/2 hour. After 3 hours, add the water and stir well. Cook for another hour stirring well every 10 minutes. Line a large cookie sheet with parchment paper and spread out the almond mix very thinly breaking apart any chunks (this will be very difficult to do once the cinnamon/sugar coating hardens). Allow almonds to cool for approximately half an hour. Store in an airtight container.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERATypically I add more photos in a recipe. When we got to the “spread onto a large cookie sheet” part, things got hairy. The hubby slopped on a large spoonful onto the cookie sheet and I was supposed to spread it out (we always work as a team). Unfortunately, some of the sugary mix was flung onto my index and middle finger. I knew I was in trouble the second it hit me. It burned in the worst way. I quickly ran to the sink to run it under cold water but it was already too late. I could see the large blisters from the 2nd degree burns. So please be very careful, sugar gets really freaking hot when it is heated up. The hubby felt awful and it was a challenge to finish my holiday baking with the bandages. This was the 2nd recipe out of 17, lol. Even with the bad burn, the Cinnamon Sugar Crockpot Almonds were so yummy and well worth making!

Leave a Reply

