Tender Beef Chunks and Butter Noodles

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

So I found this recipe on Pinterest and thought, that is too easy not to try it. I had to make alterations to fit my family’s taste. So glad we did. The meat was ridiculously tender! The gravy rich and delicious! The perfect meal which took so very little effort to make. In fact, all you really need is just a little time. As I am writing this blog post, I am actually eating another plate that I heated up in the microwave. Let me tell you, it is just as good as when it first came out of the oven! So here goes!

Printable Recipe: Tender Beef Chunks & Noodles

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Ingredients:

  • 2 lb beef boneless chuck roast (or 2 lbs beef stew meat)

  • 1 dry packet of onion soup mix

  • 1 dry packet of brown gravy

  • 10.5 oz can cream of chicken soup (alternatively, you could use cream of mushroom)

  • 1 cup water

  • 1 package wide egg noodles (omitted from photo of ingredients)

  • 1 stick of butter/margarine (omitted from photo of ingredients)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Cut meat into chunks less than one-inch in size. A little fat is good. Thick, hard slabs of fat, not so much. Just cut out around those icky hard fat parts. You can certainly purchase pre-cut beef stew meat however it would have cost almost $5.00 more just for the meat! If you have a good pair of kitchen scissors, save a few bucks. You can cut the meat exactly to the size you want and you can also avoid those gross big hard chunks of fat. Arrange meat in as close to a single layer as you can in a 9×13 glass baking dish.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

In a medium-sized bowl, mix together onion soup mix, brown gravy, cream of chicken and water with a whisk.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Pour over beef chunks. Gently stir to ensure all beef chunks are coated. Cover tightly with foil. All the work it takes to make these tender beef chunks is officially over. How stupid easy is that?! I am loving it!

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Bake for 3 hours. Do not remove foil. Do not stir. Yep, this is the hard part. I’m a peeker. I keep my oven light on anytime I am baking so I can see the magic in the oven. The savory scent that emitted from the oven made us all struggle with not taking a quick look under the foil. Our teenage son swore he was starving to death and couldn’t wait any longer. Smelling the amazing aroma made it so unbearable for all of us. I think we all were a little faint the last hour it was cooking. But we stood strong and braved the intoxicating scent of heavenly beef cooking and didn’t peek at all, nope, not once! I believe that was the hardest part of this entire meal, lol!

Three_hours_later

20 minutes before the 3 hours is up, boil a package of wide egg noodles following the package directions. Drain. Place the noodles back into the empty pot and and add 1 stick of butter to the hot noodles. Give it a stir to ensure all the noodles are buttered up. Spoon a hearty portion of noodles onto your plate.

Remove beef chunks from the oven and stir. Spoon beef chunks and gravy over your noodles. At this point you are crazy with anticipation having had to deny yourself a peek while taking in the incredible smell of your tender beef chunks cooking for the past 3 hours. So don’t wait a second later, take a huge bite, close your eyes and rumble out “Mmmmmmmm” for a good long 30 seconds. It really is that good! The best part is that the entire meal feeds 6-8 adults and costs less than $14.00!

Enjoy!

UPDATE: I received a comment that it didn’t take 3 hours to bake…in my oven it does for it to be completely fork tender. You may need to adjust as needed for your oven.

16 thoughts on “Tender Beef Chunks and Butter Noodles

  1. I SO wanted to make this today and thought I bought what I needed at the market. Unfortunately, the can of cream of chicken soup I knew I had in the back of the pantry went out of date in 2009. So, I opened a bottle of red wine, which just didn’t happen to have a shelf life–lucky me–and have tried that as a substitute. Keeping my fingers crossed for the next 2.5 hours and will let you know if the au vin version comes close to how good yours is. I’m really not one of those who say how wonderful a recipe looks but feels some compunction to make a host of changes just because. Hoping yours is a forgiving recipe!

    • Wow wine for cream of chicken…that sounds magical! I would guess the only issue may be the lack of thickness for the gravy? This could possibly be fixed with a tablespoon of cornstarch? I bet though this could still turn into something wonderful with the wine in it! The trick to this recipe is the slow and low bit. Cooking the dish for 3+ hours turns the toughest meat into tender bliss! I’m not much of a drinker nowadays, burned through that part of my life in college, lol. I always see recipes calling for wine and I am just dumbfounded when I am standing in the wine aisle. I have absolutely no clue which would be best for cooking, which is sweet, which is tart…nothing! So I’m really interested in knowing how this dish turns out for you, please come back and let us know 🙂 Have a blessed day!

      • Hi again. My attempt at this recipe really did work–it was delicious! But you’re right about the gravy being too thin. It was the consistency of a rich au jus. Wish I had thought to use the cornstarch trick you suggested, but it smelled so good we just enjoyed it as it was. I’m already planning to make this again but remembering the cream of chicken soup next time!

  2. Oh my gosh, my roommate just made this and it was AWESOME. I mean I had to walk out of the kitchen because I could hardly control myself. I’m going to try making it too but think I may add a box of mushrooms too and skip the butter on the noodles since another roommate is on a diet. The flavors were out of this world!!!

  3. I made this about 2 weeks ago, the hubs said ” this is definately a do-over” making it again tonight. Everything I’ve tried from your site has been very yummy, so thanks!

    • One of our favorites 🙂 Even the kids love it! We like the convenience of throwing it in the oven as soon as the hubby gets home from work. After daily chores, homework and so on, it’s ready before we know it! Glad you enjoyed it!

  4. I made this recipe for the family and we all enjoyed it. But I need to be able to cut down on the sodium, I though it was a lil salty. I recommend this recipe!!

  5. I can find 25% less sodium in the mushroom soup, but can’t find it in the chicken and they have lower sodium gravy mix. Haven’t looked for lower sodium Lipton soup mix.

  6. I messed this recipe up honestly. Didn’t have cream of chicken so figured if I added more water and more onion soup it would be ok. Turned out sour.. Still edible just kinda sour.. Idk. We ate it but next time I’ll def use the cream of chicken..

Leave a Reply

