Rolo Ritz Sandwich Cookies

So I have caught a massive cold. The sniffles, the congestion, cough and watery eyes is making it impossible for me to get out of my teddy bear flannel nightgown and off the couch. Ok, even on my good days I rarely get out of my teddy bear flannel nightgown. I mean if I’m not leaving the house, why should I put a bra on or clothes?? I am conserving energy since I don’t have to wash my clothes. I’m not lazy, just decreasing my carbon footprint and doing my part to save the world wearing the same nightgown day after day. At least that’s my excuse I tell the hubby and kids everyday. I am really freaking miserable with this cold! The only thing that can make me feel better is chocolate, oh, and caramel, and um, buttery crackers. That should do it! And oh did it ever! I saw this somewhere on the internet. I am shocked that I didn’t come up with this concoction before all by myself. I historically attempt to dip most things in melted chocolate. It’s kind of an obsession of mine. I always have Ritz crackers in the pantry and Rolos around thanks to my friend Cindy who shared her Rolo Pretzel Turtles recipe with me. I don’t know anyone who doesn’t like a buttery and salty Ritz cracker! It is perfect for dips and cheese slices but our 3-year-old loves it just plain. He walks around the house with a sleeve of crackers all the time. Even when I didn’t say it was ok. He helps himself to the box from the pantry and smashes about 1/4 of the crackers trying to open the package himself. Then he licks or takes bites out of the remaining whole crackers so no one else is going to eat his sleeve of crackers. My kid is sooo smart ain’t he?! And Rolos? Rolos don’t get enough praise and attention. It’s the simplicity of it all; caramel wrapped in milk chocolate. What doesn’t sound heavenly about that??? Yes, Snickers satisfies but Rolos really makes you close your eyes and rumble long “mmmmms” from deep within.

Sorry about the 2nd picture. I was trying to be all professional photographerish but um, I had to take a bite…you know to get the artistic juices flowing, lol! This has to be the EASIEST recipe ever with only 2 ingredients. Being the creative person I am, I have fondly named this concoction Rolo Ritz Sandwich Cookies; much to the hubby’s dismay. He was adamant it was not a “cookie” but I methodically explained to him that since it is “sandwiched” together then I can technically call it a cookie. As with all disagreements with the hubby of 17 years; I won. So give this cookie a try and the buttery, salty, chocolaty, caramely taste explosion will literally blow your mind! It certainly has made my cold better. And for the record, “caramely” is a real word…just ask Cindy, she always has my back.

Printable Recipe: Rolo Pretzel Turtles

Ingredients:

  • Rolos

  • Ritz Crackers

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Spread Ritz crackers out on to a cookie sheet. Place the top of the cracker upside down. Yep, I have the snowflake design Ritz crackers because I am all festive like that. Place one Rolo in the center of the cracker. So I texted the hubby to bring home a bag of Rolos. As with all men, I should have texted, “bring home a normal size bag of normal size Rolos” because he brought home Mini Rolos. Silly me for not being explicit! But let’s just be honest, the Minis really aren’t much smaller than the normal size ones. So either size will work but don’t tell the hubby that because I gave him hell for bringing home minis, lol. In a bag of normal Rolos, there are approximately 55 Rolos. In the bag of Mini Rolos, there is approximately 60 Rolos. So there literally is very little difference in size (no, I don’t know if it is the same amount of ounces, just agree with me today, I have a bad cold). More importantly, the Mini Rolos come unwrapped. Anyone who makes Peanut Blossoms or the Rolo Pretzel Turtles can appreciate candy that is unwrapped! So the slightly smaller-sized Rolos were perfect! I won’t ever admit that though to Steve. Bake for 2 minutes.

Remove and top with another Ritz cracker. Keep it pretty folks, make sure the bottom of both crackers are toward the middle. I’m all about pretty in my teddy bear flannel nightgown. I fully understand if you have to “test” your creation and eat one Rolo Ritz Sandwich Cookie while the chocolate is still all melty, just don’t burn your tongue!

Leave the cookies on the counter to allow the chocolate to set up or place in the fridge to speed up the process. I of course had to put it in the fridge for about 10 minutes because unfortunately, patience is not one of my virtues. Store in an airtight container at room temperature. Assuming you have any to “store”! Enjoy! Trust and believe this will be part of my Christmas Baking Madness for 2013. Yep, expect to see these beauties on your cookie platter!

Leave a Reply

