Humongous Breakfast Burritos

I know it seems like all I do is cook and bake all day, lol. But really I typically only do it once a day for one meal. That’s about all I can stand to do so I make the most anytime I am in the kitchen. Our tiny tornado, Spencer, wanted eggs, “tatos” and bacon yesterday morning. I looked at him like he was freaking crazy because eggs, potatoes and bacon constitutes a “Big Breakfast”! We don’t do that in our house except on Sunday mornings (which usually ends up being in the afternoon after us party animals sleep in all day, lol). I’ve always been a 3rd shifter nurse most of my career so my body likes being up late, the hubby and kiddos not so much but they do tend to stay up later on the weekends with me. So after a couple minutes of looking sideways at our 3-year-old’s request for a big breakfast, I thought, “why not?!” So I cooked the big breakfast! Making enough potatoes for 6 grown men, scrambled eggs ( with 8 eggs) and a pound of bacon just for our baby Spencer and me. Yep, I cook in one mood: Army Size. What to do with our obviously huge amount of leftover food?

Well, how about making burritos as big as Spencer’s head?! So after Spencer and I ate our fair share of the Big Breakfast, I whipped up some Humongous Breakfast Burritos! The very next morning, I had a craving for a big breakfast again and it is only Thursday! No worries, I heated up one of the Humongous Breakfast Burritos and let me tell you…hunger satisfied!

Printable Recipe: Humongous Breakfast Burrito

Ingredients:

  • 6 soft tortilla shells (10-12 inch size)

  • half of a small onion, diced

  • 4 large potatoes

  • 1 pound bacon

  • 8 eggs

  • 2 tablespoons milk

  • 1 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese

  • Your choice of seasonings (I used seasoned salt, garlic powder, salt & pepper)

Directions:

Peel potatoes, rinse off. Chop potatoes into thin, long chunks (see photo below). In a large skillet over medium heat, heat up butter-flavored oil or vegetable oil (approximately 2 tablespoons).

Add diced onions to skillet and sauté onions for 1-2 minutes. So does my onions look frozen? They are, lol! Those who follow my blog know that I dice up onions and green peppers as soon as they come home from the grocery store. I freeze the veggies in usually 1/2 cup portions in snack-size ziplocs. A couple smacks on the counter with the ziploc bag and the veggies break up nicely. Toss the veggie pieces into your recipe and they melt down adding the same flavor of onions and green peppers if you had diced them fresh for the recipe. Major time saver!

Add potato chunks to the heated skillet. Season potatoes with your choice of seasonings. I use seasoned salt, garlic powder and pepper. Stir seasonings into the potatoes. Cover potatoes and cook for approximately 20 minutes, stirring every 3-5 minutes. Potatoes are done when your spatula can split a large potato piece in half with little effort.

Once potatoes are cooked through, remove lid and cook for an additional one to two minutes to brown up the potatoes adding a little crunch to them.

Remove potatoes from skillet and place in a bowl to cool down.

Add bacon slices and cook till crisp. Remove cooked bacon and place on a plate covered in a double layer of paper towels to help drain some of the grease.

While bacon is cooking, add eggs and milk to a medium-sized bowl. Whisk together ensuring all yolks are busted. Add salt and pepper to taste. Whisk again. Set aside until bacon is done. Pour off excess bacon grease. Do not wash or wipe out skillet. Scrambled eggs are super yummy when cooked in a small amount of bacon grease with little bits and pieces of bacon scrapings.

Whisk together egg mix again and pour into skillet. Scramble eggs till fully cooked, light and fluffy. Remove from skillet onto a large plate to cool.

Take two papertowels (do not separate) and soak under water. Gently wring out. Insert 6 tortillas between the layers of papertowels. Heat sandwiched tortilla shells for approximately 30 seconds in the microwave. Tortillas will be more pliable when warmed.

Place a tortilla on a clean surface. I could have sworn I took pictures of putting the burritos together but I guess in my excitement I didn’t, lol. It’s pretty self-explanatory and I’m guessing visuals aren’t necessarily needed 🙂 Add a heaping spoonful of scrambled eggs. Sprinkle a heavy portion of shredded Monterey Jack cheese on top. Scoop potatoes on top of cheese. Using 2-3 bacon slices, break and crumble bacon over potatoes. Fold in sides of burritos enough to ensure secure ends for the burrito. Wrapping and rolling away from you, wrap your burrito tightly. Wrap the Humongous Breakfast Burrito in plastic wrap. Wrap the burrito again in a 2nd piece of plastic wrap. Repeat with remainder of tortilla shells using up all burrito ingredients. Place double-wrapped burritos into a gallon-size ziploc (be sure to write on the ziploc the date and what is inside with a permanent maker). Place ziploc in the freezer. Burritos now have a triple layer to prevent freezer burn.

To reheat burritos: place double-wrapped burrito in the microwave and defrost using the “meat” setting for “one pound”. Repeat as necessary until burrito is warmed throughout (stopping the microwave every 30 seconds after the first round of defrost to check if the burrito is warmed enough) . Burritos can be unwrapped (be careful, contents will be hot) and eaten with a soft, steamed tortilla shell.

I personally like to fry the burrito for 1-2 minutes in 1.5 teaspoons butter-flavored oil or vegetable oil on each side till golden brown.

Crunchy burrito stuffed with home-made fixings and no preservative, chemical crap – LOVE IT!

Leave a Reply

