Basketball Block Throw – Crochet Pattern

I have been working hard on creating a basketball pattern to crochet. The finished throw will be raffled off by the GMHS Cruisers Basketball moms to help pay for the end of season banquet. I searched high and low for a crochet basketball pattern. I couldn’t find any that I liked. So I basically created one from scratch! I think it turned out really fantastic! I also took the time to write out the directions and to also take pictures along the way. The finished pattern is 9 pages long and full of photos! 10 different stitches are used in this crochet pattern so it is a challenge. But the end product is so striking! You won’t go wrong making this for your favorite basketball player or fan! Switch up the colors to match your favorite team’s colors! The pattern is available for purchase in my Ravelry shop for only $6 (also in my Etsy shop for $6)! You will receive a very detailed and colorful pattern of my original design!

BUY PATTERN HERE

Or you can buy it from my Etsy shop HERE

I really loved how this turned out and hope the basketball moms are able to raise lots of money!

 

UPDATE I: Great news! The afghan was raffled off and raised $120 for the basketball team. I received quite a few compliments and the response was fantastic. I am just really excited that I was able to contribute to the team. It just goes to show that one person can make a difference. Everyone has something to offer. So give just to give and for no other reason. Giving is the best feeling in the world!

19 thoughts on “Basketball Block Throw – Crochet Pattern

  1. Gorgeous. I’m still working on the football blankets. I just finished the first one and will be starting #2. I’m praying that by the time I finish all the football blankets, the kids don’t change their choice of sport. lol

  2. Oh Fran you are my hero making 2 of those football ones! I want to make another one for my family (the original one was a gift for our high school football coach who retired) but I just can’t get the energy up to do that many dang footballs again! LOL I’m hoping the kids don’t change sports on you either! LOL I’m about to try my hand now at creating a baseball afghan (with probably 60 baseballs all needing stitched) because I like beating myself up so much, bwahahahaha. Well, I need to write out the directions for my Minnie Mouse Earflap Hat first…then make the baseball one!

  3. Pingback: Fan Friday: March Madness Begins | HIJinKs Crochet

  4. Pingback: Original Design Basketball Afghan | craftycreativekathy

      • How do I go about purchasing this pattern? I couldn’t find it, but saw your other basketball pattern for sale.

        Lisa

      • You can click on the links within the post to purchase it from Ravelry or Etsy. Both at the same price. 🙂 Thanks for your interest! I replied to a prior comment but just in case you didn’t see it, I thought I’d reply to this one also! Have a great day!

      • Is it possible to purchase the pattern for 5 Man Basketball Block? What are the finished dimensions for that? Looking for a basketball pattern. Grandma wants to give my son for his high school graduation. Thank you in advance.

        Lisa Schmidt

      • I want the pattern for the one below…I thought you called it 5 man basketball block not the basketball block throw, or are they the same??? The pictures don’t look the same…

        Thanks so much…

        Lisa

        Lisa

      • This pattern is an adaption of the Grand Slam Baseball Afghan. You would follow the directions for the stitching on the small baseballs but use them on the large baseballs (but use orange yarn for a basketball) and create the standard basketball pattern (a cross and two half circles on the sides). Hope that makes sense. Here’s info on the Grand Slam Baseball Afghan along with links to purchase it. https://craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com/2013/04/19/3693/ Hope this helps 🙂

  5. I just purchased this pattern; however now I don’t know where to go to get it. I logged out of paypal when the transaction was complete; however, now I don’t see the screen where I can download the pattern….LOL. Please help!

Leave a Reply

