Candy Cookies – Almond Joyous Cookies, Snickers Satisfying Cookies, Kit Katties Cookies, and M&M&Mmmmmms Cookies

IMG_1004

I was having a bit of a sweet tooth tonight. Craving something chocolaty and gooey. So should I eat some candy or a cookie? Candy? Cookie? Candy? Cookie? Candy? Cookie? Oh what to do?! HAVE BOTH!

2

I used a basic chocolate chip cookie recipe but omitted the chocolate chips. Instead, I added chopped up candies. My favorite is Almond Joy which is wonderful because no one else in this house likes coconut. I don’t ever have to share! LOL The hubby favors Kit Kat bars. Stevie, our oldest son, likes Snickers and Spencer, our tiny tornado, well, he likes everything! I added M&Ms to his cookies. With one batch of dough, I split the dough in half and put them in separate bowls. I added Kit Kat bars to one bowl of dough and Snickers to the other bowl. I made a second batch of dough and again split the dough in half and put them in separate bowls. I added Almond Joy candy to one bowl and M&Ms to the other bowl. I can’t begin to tell you how fantastic these cookies were. I tested each one. Although I favor my Almond Joyous Cookies, the Snickers Satisfying Cookies were a very close second! Maybe these 4 candies aren’t one of your favorites? No worries, chop up your favorites and toss it in with the dough recipe that follows to create your own unique candy cookies! Pick something of course with chocolate. I am thinking Skittles would suck in a cookie but who knows? I bet Butterfingers and Twix candy bars would rock this cookie dough!

Happy hump day folks!

Make it a good one with your own unique candy cookies!

Printable Recipe: Candy Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup packed brown sugar

  • 2/3 cup sugar

  • 2 sticks of butter/margarine

  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt

  • 2 teaspoons vanilla

  • 1 teaspoon milk

  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

  • 1 egg

  • 2 cups flour

  • 2 pkgs of 6pack candy bars (or 4 regular candy bars)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cover cookie sheets with parchment paper.

UntitledMy Grandad Bradley bought me the most amazing cutting board years ago. It is a solid, thick butcher block that also came with a cutting blade. One side of the cutting board is flat. The other side is concaved. It is awesome! The blade is super sharp and if you follow my blog, you know I don’t do well with knives. This however is so well made and the handle on the blade gives me great control. The blade is semi-circle so that it perfectly fits in the concaved side of the cutting board. Steve and I love this cutting board and blade set. My Grandad passed away last year. It was really hard on me. It took years and years to build a close relationship and just when we hit that sweet spot of family, I lost him. He was 90-years-old and rightfully ready to be with Grandma in Heaven but I just wanted more time. I miss him so much. He made me feel so special these past few years…I love you Grandad.

IMG_1008IMG_1009

Chop candies into small pieces. I used the cutting block and cutting blade from Grandad to do this. Chop the pieces into small chunks and set aside. I kept all the candies separated. Hmmmmm, I bet mixing a couple different candy bars together would be really awesome! Just wanted to also point out that those packages of single candy servings now only contain 6 candy bars each. I remember when they had 8 or 10 in each! Love how things either go up in price or the quantity is reduced, lol!

IMG_1011

In a large bowl, use a mixer to beat together the sugars and butter till well combined. I love the simplicity of this recipe but what I love most is that it is entirely put together using a mixer. With my PH, I struggle stirring cookie dough and welcome recipes with directions to use a mixer. If anyone would like to buy me one of those fancy KitchenAid mixers, I would greatly appreciate it, lol! Add to the bowl the salt, vanilla, milk, baking soda and egg adding each of these ingredients one at a time. Beat at medium speed until well combined before adding the next ingredient. Once all has been added, scrape down the sides of the bowl and beat for an additional 30-45 seconds to ensure all ingredients are well combined. Add 1 cup of flour and beat at medium speed till well incorporated. Add the remainder of flour (1 cup) and beat at medium speed until well combined. Fold in the candy pieces.

IMG_1013

Using a cookie scoop, scoop out cookie dough onto the prepared cookie sheets. Bake for 9-11 minutes until the edges become golden. Remove from oven and allow cookies to completely cool on the cookie sheet. Use a thin, metal spatula to move cookies to a container. The metal spatula is especially important if using any candy that has a sticky center (like caramel or nougat). Store in an airtight container.

qq2

If you try this recipe out, let me know what candy you tried. I’m open to suggestions for the next time I make these!

2 thoughts on “Candy Cookies – Almond Joyous Cookies, Snickers Satisfying Cookies, Kit Katties Cookies, and M&M&Mmmmmms Cookies

  1. You are the best! Always something and better and bigger on your mind….I love your creativity and shame on you for hiding it along with our BFFness all these years! Love you Kat. I am going to make some of these for Austin but his favorite is Twix….sounds good huh!

  2. Twix would be yummy! Just know that the caramel has to completely cool before you can move it off the cookie sheet or the cookie will fall apart. Also, the cookies with caramel or nougat centers I cooked 1 minute longer than the others. It helped with setting the cookie up 🙂 I love and miss you!

Leave a Reply

