Milk Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

I can go on and on about how perfect of a cookie these Milk Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies are! Crunchy edges with chewy middles. Sweet milk chocolate with hearty oats. This just may be the best cookie I’ve ever baked. It was so, so good that I pulled out an evil momma moment when making these cookies (I’ll explain that at the bottom of this post). Here goes!

Printable Recipe: Milk Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients: 

  • 1 and 1/2 cups packed brown sugar

  • 1 cup butter or margarine at room temperature

  • 2 teaspoons vanilla

  • 1 egg

  • 2 and 1/4 cups quick-cooking oats

  • 1 and 1/2 cups flour

  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

  • 1 teaspoon salt

  • 1 cup milk chocolate chips (1/2 a bag of baking chips)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

  2. In a medium-sized bowl, cream together the brown sugar and butter/margarine with a large spoon.

  3. Add vanilla and egg. Stir till well combined.

  4. In a separate bowl, combine these dry ingredients flour, baking soda and salt. Stir till well combined. Add these dry ingredients slowly into the wet ingredients stirring well after each addition.

  5. Add the oats. Stir until well combined.

  6. Fold in the milk chocolate chips.

  7. Using a 1” cookie scoop, scoop cookies onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 9-11 minutes or until edges are a light golden brown.

  8. Allow the cookies to cool on the cookie sheet for an additional 5 minutes to allow the cookies to fully set-up. Remove cookies from cookie sheet onto a cooling rack. Store in an airtight container.

My Evil Momma Moment:

These cookies were so good, I mean, ate-6-right-off-the-cookie-sheet-while-they-were-still-blazing-hot good! I knew these babies weren’t going to last long in this house between a 3-year-old who binges on sweets and a 16-year-old who always has his friends over. I took a 1/3 of the dough and added 1/2 cup of shredded, sweetened coconut. Yep, I sure did. I did this knowing absolutely no one in this house likes coconut. None of our oldest son’s friends like coconut. I told the family it was to add more texture to the cookie for my blog (which in my very weak defense, it did add sweet texture). And I ate all 16 of my Milk Chocolate Chip Coconut Oatmeal Cookies by myself. In one sitting. Yep, Ate. Every. Last. One. Didn’t even stop to take a picture of the ones with coconut in them. Oh the sacrifices I make to keep this blog fresh…LOL

Leave a Reply

