Extra Crispy Buttermilk Fried Chicken

If you personally know me then you know what a huge task it is for me to cook fried chicken. I don’t do bones. I detest bones. I get nauseated by bones and anyone eating something with bones in it next to me really freaks me out! I don’t know why, I’ve always been that way. So everything I eat is typically boneless. If it has bones, my super amazing husband will cut away the bone in another room for me. Yes, it is ridiculous. I realize that but I have never been able to handle bones. However, when it comes to fried chicken, you need the bone. Bone-in chicken makes the most moistest of meats. So once in a great, great, great while when I am absolutely craving fried chicken…this is the recipe I use. Our Extra Crispy Buttermilk Fried Chicken has so much flavor and the meat is super moist! I was craving this so much that I texted the hubby and asked him if he thought I could cut up a whole chicken. I was trying to keep costs down. He responded with one word, “nope”. He knows me so well, lol! I’m pretty sure if I cut up a whole chicken I would pass out, lol! So instead, I sent our 16-year-old to the store to get a package of chicken breasts and chicken thighs. No way on Earth could I do legs or wings. Way too many bones, ligaments and tendons. Oh dear, making myself nauseated, lol! Ok back to our recipe. Stevie came back with breasts and thighs alright. The breasts were as huge as our dinner plates! What kind of chicken is that?! The thighs were as big as normal chicken breasts! These chicks definitely were pumped up with steroids or something! They were that crazy huge! Anyhow, I made it through cooking ’em up and they were mighty tasty!

Printable Recipe: Extra Crispy Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 4 bone-in chicken breasts with skin & 4 bone-in chicken thighs with skin

  • 2 teaspoons paprika

  • 2 teaspoons garlic

  • 1 tablespoon seasoned salt

  • 2 teaspoons black pepper

  • 2 teaspoons chicken or poultry seasoning

  • 3 cups flour and 3/4 cup flour, separated

  • 2 cups buttermilk

  • 1 teaspoon salt

  • 1 teaspoon pepper

Directions:

Fill your deep fryer with vegetable oil up to the recommended line for your particular deep fryer. Heat oil to 350 degrees. Rinse chicken parts and pat dry with a paper towel. Set aside. In a medium-sized bowl, combine paprika, garlic, seasoned salt, black pepper, chicken or poultry seasoning and flour. In another medium-sized bowl, combine buttermilk, salt and pepper. Once oil is heated up to 350 degrees, dip one chicken part in the flour mix coating all sides. Then dip the flour-coated chicken part into the buttermilk mix coating all sides. Take the buttermilk-dipped chicken part and dredge it back into the flour mix. Carefully drop the chicken part into the deep fryer. Repeat adding as many chicken parts that the deep fryer can hold (all chicken parts need to be completely submerged into the oil). Deep fry until golden brown, all juices run clear and the internal temperature of the chicken is at least 165 degrees (approximately 15-18 minutes).

Remove from fryer and place chicken on a cooling rack (placed over a cookie sheet to catch any oil drippings). Allow oil to heat back up to 350 degrees. Repeat steps 5-12 with remaining chicken parts.

The flavor of this fried chicken is out of this world! It does make an extra crispy coating because it is triple dipped. If you don’t like your coating this thick and crunchy, omit the first dip in the flour mix. Instead go straight to the buttermilk mix, then to the flour mix and then to the deep fryer. Either way, you will love the flavor explosion!

Leave a Reply

