Touchdown Football Crochet Throw

Touchdown Football Crochet Throw

Finally finished the Touchdown Football Crochet Throw! I love the texture and the 2D effect of the footballs! Nice and thick! I have to give a shout out to two dear friends I’ve met through my blog who took the time to test my pattern and offer suggestions on how to improve it. Thank you Fran & Janet, you are both awesome in my book!

IMG_6051a

Adjustable in size, add as many motifs to get to your desired length.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

The pattern is finally written! It is 17 pages long with 89 photos and diagrams! This is for an expert crocheter however my directions are so detailed that an intermediate crocheter can tackle this awesome throw! The finished size of the throw below containing 48 Football Motifs is 50″x38″. Each Football Motif measures 6″x6″ square.

IMG_6082a

You can purchase the pattern in my ETSY SHOP or in my RAVELRY SHOP for only $6.00. As a BONUS, I have included directions on how to change the Football Motif into a Granny Football Motif that you can use in your favorite granny square pattern! The Granny Football Motif is 7″x7″ square. NOTE: The picture is inaccurate in measurement. The Granny Football Motif is next to a 7 row basic granny square. It will NOT line up. The Granny Football Motif will ONLY line up with a 6 row basic granny square. Sorry about that folks. The patterns posted for purchase have been updated with this information and all prior buyers have received the updated pattern at no additional charge.

IMG_9186a

The possibilities are endless when it comes to these 2 football motifs! Also, included in the directions for both the Football Motif and the Granny Football Motif are step-by-step instructions and photos for the laces. The “lacing” is quick and easy with the way I sew the laces on the footballs. Also, I created the lacing so that it shows on both sides. There is not a “bad” or “wrong” side with these motifs. Instead, there is a “good” side and a “better” side!  Thanks for your interest in my original design and for stopping by my blog! Have a great day!

Variations of the Football Motif:

befunky_gedc0049

I took the Drop in the Pond pattern and switched out the center granny square with a Football Granny Motif. I followed the pattern for the edging except changed the colors in row 3 and 4 to white. I also added another set on the middle section to both ends and another set to each long side.

IMG_8145

Made for a really large afghan: 57″x43″. The original Drop in the Pond pattern is not mine but just wanted to show you how to incorporate the Football Motifs into other patterns.

IMG_8146

I should add that the stitches are accurate in the count however the very nature of going from an oblong shape to a square causes some puckering. Personally, I love the slight puckering. It allows the football to protrude out creating a 2D effect. For the throw below I “blocked” the square to make it lay flat. To block your motif, you will need a spray bottle filled with water, a pillow case, an ironing board and an iron. Spray the motif lightly with water. Stretch the motif out till it is flat and all edges are square. Place pillow case on top and iron at medium heat until all the steam evaporates (meaning the water is gone). Your motif will lay flat for your design. Of course, if you should ever wash your afghan, the same process will need to occur to get it to lay flat again. As with any crochet item, wash all items alone and lay flat to dry. In the throw below I used the Granny Football Motif along with a basic granny square. Just another variation using the motifs found in the Touchdown Football Crochet Throw pattern! It turned out really cute! Actually, I think it is my favorite so far this football season. This is my kitchen floor and the black areas seen through the red is the little black diamonds on my kitchen floor and not part of the throw.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

 

Check out Angie’s version! Looks fantastic! Thanks again for sharing!

photo_1_medium

photo_2_medium

27 thoughts on “Touchdown Football Crochet Throw

  1. Pingback: Football Afghan | craftycreativekathy

    • This was just made last week. I’m finishing up the pattern. I like to add a lot of directional photos. I expect to have it fully written and posted to Ravelry and Etsy. I will sell the pattern for only $6.00. I’ll put a direct link on this post to both sites once it is available for sale. I will also show how after making a motif how you can incorporate into other different designs. I am using the football motif for all 5 afghans/throws I make for the football team to raffle at every home game. Each afghan/throw is different but will all have the football design somewhere in it. So stay tuned, the link is coming! Thanks for your interest!

  2. My husband is a Boise State Football fan. He likes the apparell and accessories so I would love to make him an afghan with the Boise colors on it. I am looking forward to purchasing your pattern because now is the time to start making time consuming christmas presents.

    • Thank you for your interest! This pattern is versatile, allowing for personalization using your favorite team’s colors. I also will include how to turn the football motif into a granny square. This opens up a lot of possibilities! I finished the 2nd afghan raffled off this week that used the football motif in the center as a granny square in the “Drop in the Pond” pattern. I intend to make this week’s afghan a granny square piece with alternating football motifs with red and black blocks of grannies. Working hard today taking the necessary pics so that I can post the pattern tomorrow! Have a great weekend!

    • Dawn Marie,

      The pattern is now available in my Etsy shop and Ravelry Shop. Thanks again for your interest! I bet Boise State colors would look awesome and bright! Be sure to send a picture of the finished throw, I would love to see your color combination! ~ Kathy

  3. Pingback: FootBall crochet Afghan Pattern

  4. Pingback: Original Design Basketball Afghan | craftycreativekathy

  5. Just bought your pattern and the very last picture here is what I am wanting to do. It looks like you use the granny template (red) and a basic square (black). How did you join them? Are they crocheted together?

    • Thank you! Yes, it is a basic 6 row granny square using the same needle size. I added a white border sc around each motif (granny & football) then used a needle threaded with the white yarn to whip stitch them together lining up the matching sc of each motif. I then did a white sc row around the joined motifs to create the outside border. Good luck and don’t hesitate to ask if you have any other questions 🙂 Thanks again!

  6. Just LOVE the football patterns!!!! I am a beginning crochet’er however so I dont think the first one your posted would be a good place to start. Which one (if any) would you recommend for a beginner? Thank you!!

    • It is the same pattern just used in different designs. Essentially you are making a football square that can be used to replace a granny square in most patterns. I make the directions very simple to read with tons of step-by-step photos. I do think anyone can read my pattern and create the design intended 🙂 Good luck!

  7. I love the touchdown football blanket–it is perfect for my football-crazy grandson. I ordered the pattern from your Ravelry site two weeks ago, but haven’t yet received it. The order said it would be emailed. I am excited to get started on this project and looking forward to receiving that email soon.

    • Linda, I’m so sorry for the delay. From 9/15/16 on, all purchases both on Etsy and Ravelry were listed as “pending payment”. Nothing processed! Well, after going round and round with Paypal, the payment did process on your end however the funds were not deposited into my account. Paypal is correcting the issue however they “regretted” to inform me that it will take another 3-4 business days! I can’t leave my customers hung out to dry like that! I went through all orders since 9/15/16 and sent the patterns to their email addresses listed on their Ravelry profile or I sent a message asking for their email addresses on Etsy (it’s not readily available under the profile). Please check your email and let me know you have received the pattern! Again, I’m so sorry for all the inconveniences. I have yet to receive payment and am going on blind faith that the payments will show up the “4-5 business days” like Paypal says it will. It’s more important to me that I take care of my customers! Again, check your email and I’m terribly sorry about this Paypal mess!

      • Thanks for your quick response; I did receive your email with the pattern. What great customer service! If the PayPal payment does not release as it should, please let me know and I will be happy to send another payment, this time directly to you. I just finished a project last night and now will be able to start this one while I watch college football today–seems appropriate. Love your ideas and patterns…keep them coming.

Leave a Reply

