Butter Rice

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

I am half Filipina. This means I’ve ate more than my fair share of rice. When I was growing up, we had rice for every meal in every possible way. We had steamed rice, fried rice, rice cakes, chocolate rice, Spanish rice, you name it. I had it with breakfast, lunch and dinner. And sometimes, it was dessert (hence the chocolate rice). When I hit my 20s, I was just sick of rice. I boycotted it for almost 10 years. You have to understand that my mother always had rice in the rice cooker every minute of every single day. When we would visit my mom, our oldest son always tore up her steamed rice. I felt bad because I was basically keeping rice out of my son’s diet, lol. I’ve slowly gone back to making rice more often. Whipping up fried rice every couple of weeks keeps the kiddos happy. I am partial to plain ol’ steamed rice. Sometimes I don’t even add soy sauce. Every once in a while though, I get a craving for flavored rice. This butter rice really transforms rice into an exquisite side dish. It is hearty and packed full of flavor!

Printable Recipe: Butter Rice

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked white rice (do not use instant rice)

  • Soy sauce (in a spray bottle)

  • 10 oz can of French onion soup

  • 10 oz can beef broth

  • 1 stick of butter or margarine

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Add rice to a 9×9 square baking pan.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Add water. Rinse dust and particles from rice by carefully dumping the water out.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Repeat as many times as necessary. Pour out as much of the water as possible.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Spray a light layer of soy sauce onto rice.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Slice butter or margarine into little pats.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Add French onion soup and beef broth. Place butter or margarine pats in pan (they will float on top of the liquid). If you aren’t too keen on that many onions, you can add all the liquid from the French onion soup and then spoon out the amount of onions you want into your pan. The onions get fully cooked down and are very soft.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes. Remove cover and bake for 30 more minutes.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Stir and serve.

Leave a Reply

