Spencer’s Harley Davidson Themed 5th Birthday Party

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

If  you have read the About Me page or the Our Phight with Pulmonary Hypertension page, then my elaborate birthday parties for my kiddos makes sense! I would be a fool to not recognize my time is limited and it is my deepest desire that my children always fondly remember that their momma did everything possible to make their life amazing! As always, we make sure our kiddies’ birthdays are huge blowouts and this year was no exception!

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

We of course have to talk decorations! I do go all out but I also cut costs everywhere I can! I’ll start with the table centerpieces. I like them to always be functional and these Motorcycle Tray printouts were perfect! You can find the Motorcycle Trays HERE on Etsy. Once purchased, it is an automatic download! No waiting for something to be shipped. Just download and print! Of course my printer broke just a couple of weeks before the party so I did have to spend some money to print things. I took this pattern to FedEx/Kinkos and had them print it on their fancy laser jet printers for around .79 cents a page (it takes two pages to make the tray). I lined the trays with wax paper and bought a 10 count box of microwave popcorn. When you are putting the trays together, you can literally size the trays to your needs. I went larger, almost square in size to create the table centerpieces. I then dumped one bag of microwave popcorn into the trays! Yummy and stylish! You certainly can decrease the width and turn these into awesome goodie trays to give to your party goers!

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Next, I made my own tissue balls. The price folks want to charge you for them are absurd because they are stupid easy to make! If you buy your tissue paper at Hobby Lobby (they have a wide assortment of colors), they come perfectly square. You can make one large tissue ball (which is what I did) or cut them into 4 pieces and create 4 smaller tissue balls. Here’s a photo below with simple directions on how to make these.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

It’s a fun way to brighten up the ceiling for any party!

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

I wanted to make some personalized signs to hang from the rafters of the shelter house. I wen to Dollar Tree and bought black foam core poster boards. My husband used his box cutter to cut each board into 4 even pieces. Using photoshop, I took a picture of Spencer on his Hot Wheels Motorcycle and created a picture with an orange background with text that said, “Spencer is 5!” The text I used is called FFF Tusj and you can download this font HERE. This font looks awesome blown up! I made sure the picture was sized to cover the entire print area of a normal size 8.5 x 11 size piece of paper.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Again using photoshop, I created the personalized bar sheilds that said, “Happy Birthday Spencer”. I taped down the motorcycle picture on one side and the bar shield on the other. My husband took a phillips head screwdriver and punctured the top corners. I tied black yarn creating a hanger. They really turned out cute! Here’s the bar shield for you below ready to go,  just right click and save the picture to your computer. Open Word and insert the picture. Click on Word Art and add your child’s name using Arial font in white color. Resize the Word Art it to fit across the middle black section. Tadah!

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

I always like to put little signs coming up the sidewalk to the shelter house. It lets people know they are heading in the right direction!

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

I made 4 signs again using photoshop with the last sign being the same picture of Spencer on his Hot Wheels Motorcycle! I also had these printed at FedEx/Kinkos. I made all my signs the same size, so no weird cutting needed. Actually no cutting. I just taped the 8.5 x 11 paper to each piece of black foam core poster board. Again, I used the FFF Tusj font.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Again, my husband took a black foam core poster board and cut it into 4 even pieces. I went to the local hardware store and picked up 4 of their free paint stick stirrers. Using duct tape, I taped a paint stick stirrer to the back of each sign. The paint stirrers were then pushed into the ground! Simple and easy!

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

We also made some long signs. I opened Word again and used Word art to make the letters. I could get about 6 letters on an 8.5″ x 11″ sheet of paper. I just printed it on orange paper and again sticking with the theme, I used the FFF Tusj font. The hubby took another black foam core poster board and cut it evenly (long ways) into 3 sections. I did cut the letters square (again using the industrial paper cutter at FedEx/Kinkos) and then taped them down to the cut foam core poster board. The “Fuel” sign hung above the food tables. The “Pit Stop” sign hung above the goodie bags table and lastly the “Garage” sign hung above Spencer’s gifts table.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

I do specialize in cake pops and sell them locally. Spencer had over 100 Motorcycle cake pops that we displayed on our handy dandy cake pop stand my hubby made out of  1 x 3 inch wood slates.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

I also made 4 dozen cupcakes and put them in these awesome Harley Davidson cupcake sleeves I found on ebay. You can find them HERE. They were super fast shippers! If you have ever priced cupcake sleeves, you know they are pricey. Even if you make your own, they are pricey because you can only put 2 on each sheet of paper. These though were very reasonable priced and only $19.99 for 48 sleeves. They were really awesome and had a plastic feel to them. They also were reversible! I put the chocolate cupcakes in the sleeves showing the Harley Davidson logo. For the white cupcakes, I reversed the sleeves to show all orange. Made it easy for guests to pick which cupcake they wanted.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

We always make one special cake used for the “Happy Birthday” singing and the blowing out of candles. We don’t cut the cake at the party and always save it for later for just our immediate family. Saves us on the cost of plates and forks! We also don’t have to buy ice cream! There were more than enough cake pops and cupcakes for all the guests! This year, I made my very first tiered, fondant cake! It was a blast to make and I even made the marshmallow fondant from scratch! If you have ever eaten normal fondant, you know how crappy it actually tastes. The marshmallow fondant is made with marshmallows, powdered sugar and just a touch of water! It’s really yummy and easy to work with.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

The goodie bags were purchased at Flower Factory. They were around $3.00 for 12.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

I took his photo of him sitting on the Hot Wheels Harley Davidson Motorcycle and using photoshop, I added, “Spencer is 5! Thank you for celebrating with us!”. I again used the the FFF Tusj font. I resized it to 2″ x 3″ size.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

I then created a new project that was 4″ x 6″ size. I was able to add 4 photos to the 4″ x 6″ project. I sent the picture to Walgreens and printed them for 10 cents a copy costing less than $4.00 to make enough picture copies for 48 goodie bags. While at FedEx/Kinkos, I used their industrial paper cutter to cut the photo into fourths. Those went in to each goodie bag along with candy and some fun toys I bought at the Dollar Tree. Simple, fun, inexpensive and totally personalized goodie bags!

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Lastly, we made our yearly family t-shirts that we always wear at Spencer’s birthday party. We also wear the shirts the rest of the summer to different events like fairs and such. I bought the t-shirt transfers at Michaels using my 50% off coupon from my Michaels app on my phone (cost after using the coupon was only around $5.00). I found a motorcycle picture and using photoshop, added a large number 5 behind it. This became the fronts of our shirt. The white t-shirts were also bought at Michael’s on sale 2 for $5.00! So total cost for 4 personalized t-shirts was only $15.00!

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Then I used the same font for the number 5 to make the words to be put on the back of the shirts (I was able to get 2 words on each sheet of 8.5 x 11 transfer paper). My husband (who is an avid motorcycle rider and a Harley Man) helped me pick different models of Harley Davidson to put on the shirts. The hubby was “Road King”. I was “Soft Tail”. Our teenage son was “V-Rod” and lastly, Spencer was “Sportster”. These transfers print using your standard deskjet printer that most people have in their homes. We trimmed the transfers close to the pictures/words. We followed the directions and ironed the transfers on the front and back of the shirts. They turned out awesome!

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

We’ve had the Hot Wheels Harley Davidson motorcycle for many years. It originally was our oldest son’s Christmas present when he was 3-years-old (he’s now 17.5-years-old). It hasn’t ran in over 10+ years because the batteries were worn out. We always hung onto it thinking our grandchildren could play with it. We didn’t know at the time that we would have our second child 12.5 years after our first and only child, lol! Spencer always loved sitting and pretend riding on it. We went to Batteries Plus and bought 2 new batteries. We brought it to Spencer’s birthday party and he was to the moon happy when he realized it actually worked!

IMG_3224

He spent the rest of the party riding around the park and giving his cousin, Uriah rides!

IMG_3118

It was a roaring great time and another birthday that I hope Spencer will look back on when he’s older. I hope he is able to say, “My momma threw me the best birthday party!” Thanks to all of our family and friends who came and made it a precious memory for our entire family!

Happy Birthday Spencer!

 Weeeeee! Birthday Express felt this post was worthy of a “Best Birthday” badge! I’m touched and humbled. 🙂

“On behalf of Birthday Express, we would like to offer you our ‘Best Birthday’ badge for throwing such a sensational party. Congratulations–you and your little one deserve it!”

– Mariah Olsen, Birthday Express

photo BestBirthday_zpsa6c2c38a.png

11 thoughts on “Spencer’s Harley Davidson Themed 5th Birthday Party

  1. What a cute idea 🙂 You have a beautiful family! I am going to try your Burbon-less chicken today. Fingers crossed 🙂

  2. Hi Kathy,

    My name is Mariah Olson, and I am a representative of Birthday Express. My job is to search the internet for outstanding children’s birthday blogs that deserve recognition. When I came across your party for your son Spencer’s birthday, I knew immediately that there was a great deal of time and effort spent on this celebration! The special details that you included like a beautifully decorated Harley Davidson themed cake/cupcakes/cake pops and it looks like getting the new batteries for the Hot Wheels Harley made the party! I really like the signs for food and drinks, great idea!

    On behalf of Birthday Express, we would like to offer you our “Best Birthday” badge for throwing such a sensational party. Congratulations–you and your little one deserve it! If you are interested, let me know and I’ll send it your way. I can be reached at mariaholson12@gmail.com. Again, congratulations, and thank you for your time!

    Best Regards,

    Mariah Olson
    http://www.birthdayexpress.com

    • Wow! I am really honored and humbled by your gesture! Thank you for taking the time to recognize his birthday! A lot of effort goes into his birthday parties every year! It is my goal and sincere hope that Spencer will look back on his birthdays and say that “Mom and Dad went all out just for me!” An email was sent to the address your provided. Thanks again Ms. Olson!

  3. Pingback: Harley Davidson Themed 5th Birthday Party | I Love Harley Davidson Bikes

    • Sorry, I don’t sell the cupcake liners. I purchased them on eBay and the link provided was a link to an eBay listing from the seller I purchased from. The seller may not be selling them anymore? You could do a search on eBay for Harley Davidson Cupcake Liners. Good luck and I hope you are able to find them 🙂

  4. Dear Kathy, Thank you so much for sharing your family, creative side and journey through life with us! I have learned a great deal about PH and your (and many others) fight. I am going to try a number of your recipes and will suppor the research to help with PH. You and your family will be in my prayers.

  5. Is there any way that you could make Harley sign that says Happy Birthday Charlie. I can’t do there things on my own.

    • Please check your email you registered to Weebly. I sent the “Happy Birthday Charlie” Harley Davidson picture to you as an attachment! 🙂 Have a blessed week and in return, all I ask is that you please pay it forward with a random act of kindness to another individual! Thanks! ~ Kathy

Leave a Reply

