Jell-O Poke Cake

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

There is nothing better on a hot summer day than a cool, sweet and refreshing Jell-O Poke Cake! Not only is it a pretty cake when sliced but it is absolutely fantastic! I can tell you it is a family favorite of ours and also Quinton’s favorite! Quinton and our oldest son have been friends since they were wee young lads and I do believe if you put a Jell-O Poke Cake in front of them, they would fight for it, lol! Seriously requires only 4 ingredients (well, the cake mix requires 3 ingredients as well) and is so easy to put together! If you’ve never had Jell-O Poke Cake, well, I just feel sorry for you! LOL

Printable Recipe: Jell-O Poke Cake

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Ingredients:

  • 1 white cake mix

  • 1 cup boiling water

  • 3 oz package of Jell-O gelatin (your choice of flavor)

  • 1/2 cup cold water

  • 8 oz tub of whipped topping, thawed

Directions:

Bake cake according to cake mix instructions on the box in a 9×13 metal pan.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Allow cake to cool completely.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Using a wooden spoon’s handle, poke holes in the cooled cake by pushing the handle down all the way into the cake. I went through this phase where I thought all wood in the kitchen was evil because it is so absorbent. I kind of went overboard thinking that all my wood items were packed with germs. So I don’t have any wooden spoons, lol. But I do have these awesome plastic spoons shaped like a wooden spoon that I use to poke the holes.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Space the holes about 1/2 to 1 inch away from each other.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

In a 2 cup glass measuring cup, add 1 cup boiling water. Add the package of jell-O gelatin. We usually use strawberry flavor but any flavor of your choice will work. Stir until all gelatin crystals are dissolved. Add 1/2 cup of cold water and stir until well combined.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Slowly pour jell-O liquid over the cake ensuring the entire cake is evenly covered.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Be sure to pour the jell-O liquid directly down the holes you created.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Cover with whipped topping. In my picture of the ingredients I have a 16 oz tub of whipped topping. It’s just what I had on hand and it only takes 8 oz to cover the cake in a light layer of whipped topping.

craftycreativekathy.wordpress.com

Place in fridge for at least one hour before serving. Keep leftovers covered and in the fridge.

Leave a comment