Brownie Cake with Chocolate Frosting

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

So New Year’s Eve we stuck around the house since the hubby and baby had caught a bad cold. I thought I would make brownies from scratch to cheer them up. So I failed at it. Well, I failed at the brownie part but I ended up making a moist chocolate cake and the home-made icing was to die for! So as most things in life, it is how you look at it. Yep, failed at brownies but I succeeded in making a cake from scratch! The cake is not overly chocolately or sweet and really moist. The true star though is the chocolate frosting. It is rich and sweet. Pours on like liquid chocolate and then the top layer sets up. Oh but underneath, there is this thick pool of chocolate bliss screaming “eat me”! I will have to say this is the first cake I have ever made from scratch. My cakes typically start with Betty Crocker or the Pillsbury Dough Boy. I am just not one to re-create the wheel. Betty & Pillsbury know what they are doing! But sometimes, you have shake things up a bit and I’m glad I did. Give this a try. I believe it is a keeper in our Pack family recipe book!

Printable Recipe: Brownie Cake with Chocolate Icing

Cake Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter, softened

  • 2 cups sugar

  • 1/3 cup cocoa

  • 2 teaspoon vanilla

  • 4 eggs

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

 Frosting Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons of shortening

  • 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

  • 1/3 cup milk

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

  • 2 cups powdered sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350. Spray a 9×13 glass dish with non-stick cooking spray.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Combine butter, sugar and cocoa in a large mixing bowl. Using a large spoon, stir by hand till well combined.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Add the vanilla and stir. Add the eggs one at a time stirring after each egg is added. In a separate small bowl, combine the flour, salt and baking soda. Whisk together. Slowly add flour mix to the wet mix stirring till well combined.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Poor cake mix into the prepared glass dish. Smooth out with a spatula. Bake for 28-32 minutes until set.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Let cake completely cool. While cake is cooling, prepare the chocolate frosting.

Icing Directions:

In a medium sauce pan, melt together the shortening and semi-sweet chocolate chips over low heat. Stir in remaining ingredients in order stirring after each ingredient is added. Allow icing to cool for approximately 10 minutes. Spread over the cooled cake.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Enjoy!

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a comment