Blessed with Friendships

In a few days, I will be another year older. I am reflective by nature and this rings true especially today. When I think of where I came from to where I am at now, it only makes me more hopeful for my future. I am truly blessed with a marriage made in Heaven with the love of my life and my very best friend, Steve, and I am blessed twice over to be the mom of two amazing boys. On top of that, I have the greatest friends. As I leisurely travel down my own memory road, I can see around every corner there is a true friend walking beside me through every stage of my life. Friends who were there for the good times and crying with me during the worst of times…from Vivian who is the oldest friend I have (we’ve been friends since I was 8 years old) to Shawnee who gave me a home when I literally didn’t have one to my friends now who almost a year ago today, literally dropped everything to be my side. Almost a year ago I was told I had three masses in my abdomen, one on my pancreas and two on my ovaries. I could see in the physician’s eyes how bleak this news was as it almost seemed certain I had cancer that metastasized. I was in shock and dazed when my husband picked up the phone and called one of my friends early that morning around 7:00AM. In less than two hours, not one but five of my closest friends were around my hospital bed holding my hand and crying with me. Just like that, they dropped everything and rushed to be at my side and I know that every one of them was at work or on their way to work that morning. With their prayers and the Grace of God, every mass was benign. Each of my friends have fought along side me against pulmonary hypertension. Together, we are beating the odds. To my friends, old and new, close and far this post today is dedicated to you. Thank you for crying with me, lifting me up when I was down, listening to me when I was being unreasonable, ignoring me when I was being cranky, laughing with me till we cried and for loving me not only at my best of times but at my worst of times. People wish for one true friend and I know I am blessed with several. I may not talk to you everyday but it doesn’t matter. Our friendship is etched into my memory and housed in my heart. There are many more than those pictured below. From the very depths of my soul, thank you for being my friend and I only hope I have been as good a friend to you. The photos below are of some of my dearest friends (not all of them) along with quotes about friendship. In a few short days, I will be celebrating another year on Earth and please know, I am celebrating because each of you are an important part of my life. Thanks for making my life so much better. I love you guys.

Beth Horn & Me

Friendship

Thank you to my dear friends

for leaving your footprints in my heart.

Leave a comment